Recipe: Greek Quinoa Salad…and it tastes good😋

image Quinoa has always been a little bit of a mystery to me, the idea of it and recipes that use it sounds amazing but getting it to taste yummy has taken some time to master!  Don’t get me wrong it is delicious and super good for you, especially if you struggle to feel full after a salad.  I love using quinoa in a salad, it picks up flavour well, helps your stomach feel fuller longer and it’s can be cooked on Sunday for the rest of the week!

In this recipe I also added chickpeas!  I bought chickpeas months ago and have just now decided to soak and eat them….I know took me long enough!🙈. Chickpeas are low in saturated fat, cholesterol and sodium which is amazing but the best part about these little beans is the good source of dietary fibre and protein they are!  I have many more recipe plans with these little guys for the future!

Recipe: Quinoa Greek Salad (Makes 4 cups salad)image

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 3/4 cup chick peas (soaked and drained)
  • 1 cup cucumber, chopped
  • 1 cup peppers, chopped
  • 1/3 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 5-6 mint leaves, chopped finely
  • quarter of lemon, squeezed
  • 2 Tablespoons Greek dressing (I used Kraft,,, homemade recipe to come)

– Combine above ingredients in a bowl and mix! Super easy!!🍴

This salad was my lunch for three days in a row! So yummy!😋image image In order for me to get back into shape I really need to focus on packing yummy and healthy lunches!  One thing I have found in the past is that I will start the day with the best intentions of eating healthy, even have my suppers all planned out a head of time… But as the day goes by my healthy intentions go out the window if I don’t have a filling lunch.  I will come home and eat the quickest and often not healthy meal for supper, throwing away not only my healthy eating for the day but also my workout!  Now I’m not saying you can’t treat yourself!! But everyday is not going to help you achieve your fitness goals!image image

I recommend this salad to anyone who has yet to find a way to make quinoa taste yummy and flavourful!!

Until next post✌🏻️💁🏻

Recipe: Greek Quinoa Salad…and it tastes good😋

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Greek Quinoa Salad…and it tastes good😋

Leave a Reply

